CCC image.jpg
06.09.18 | OnCourse, ICHM News

High Spirits

Returning and new students gathered in the Pullman’s Hindmarsh Ballroom on 27 July for this semester’s Course Commencement Ceremony.  

As always at Course Commencement, students can barely contain their excitement in their eagerness to network, network, network! New students keen to get to know each other and returning students wishing to share with their peers their industry placement experiences. 

Master of Ceremonies Derek Milligan welcomed students, staff and guests, and an Acknowledgment of Country followed, showing respect for traditional owners of the land and the continuing connection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island peoples to country. 

Chief Executive Gerald Lipman gave the official welcome, before presenting high-achieving students with Certificates of Merit and Certificates of Academic Achievement.

Gerald Lipman, assisted by Sue Rhee, went on to present Dux of the Year awards, accompanied by graduate Bodelle Francis (winners of the Accor Hotels’ prize) and Haylee Franklin (winners of the Delaware North prize). 

Dux of 1st Year (July–December 2017)
Accor Prize: $1000
Meg Anderson

Dux of 2nd Year (July–December 2017)
Delaware North Prize: $1000
Macey Button

Dux of 2nd Year (July–December 2018)
Delaware North Prize $1000
Sophie Di Fabio

Dux of 2nd Year (January–June 2017)
Delaware North Prize $1000
Gabriella Hinz 

Wen Hao Liang and David Dorantes Murillo (pictured) presented the traditional welcome address on behalf of students. 

Student Representative Council members were called to the stage and acknowledged, and this semester’s members are: 

  • Shona Robertson (President)
  • George Jeffrey (Vice President)
  • Tiffany Cheng
  • Suet Ri (Sherry) Chew
  • Michael Lim
  • Tayla Morrish (Secretary)
  • Victoria McDougal
  • Hayley Ross
  • Tripp Bhatt
  • Terrie Johnson (Treasurer)
  • Moeko Shukuya
  • Georgie Lehmann
  • Millie Hopton
  • Laura Stiller
  • Ben Nikora
  • Georgia Rohrsheim.